Tuesday, October 25, 2016
From Syria with love By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
This weekend is the Volunteer and Wellness Fair in Haliburton, combining the Lions Club wellness event and the volunteer fair, and for those with a bit of spare time and an urge to dig into the community this is the perfect event to check out.
Friday, October 7, 2016
If at first you don t succeed, try, try again. Or, in the case of quitting smoking, try, try, try, try, try you get the picture.
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
The Hateful Apple By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Aside from giving the provincial government a chance to press the reset button on its flagging poll numbers, the prorogation of the legislature earlier this month had another side effect: bills making their way through the legislative process died.
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Five days after last year s Take Back the Night walk against sexual and domestic violence, the region was shocked by a triple murder in Wilno, about an hour and a half northeast of Haliburton.
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Elizabeth May made her way to Haliburton County just as the rains started falling again.
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Stop for school buses By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Without thoughtful, planned, constant action, it s highly likely the health of our lakes would degrade rapidly.
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Next week the final installment of a three-part series on general stores will be published in the long-weekend issue of this paper.
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Voting change By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Haliburton County and City of Kawartha Lakes are examining an important and often overlooked issue in rural Ontario: homelessness.
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Things we throw away By Jenn Watt August 2, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
The civic holiday long weekend is here marking one of the busiest times in the Haliburton Highlands. The summer is half over, but there s still much to look forward to in the coming month.
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
When I think of my father s life s work, I think of the garden.
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Recent strife between Canada Post and its workers has brought to light how necessary traditional mail still is to many in this community and across the country.
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
The high school graduation ceremony is an established tradition, choreographed down to the smallest detail, repeated year after year. You d think after so many renditions, the players would be noticeably fatigued ...
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
LGBTQ pride By Jenn Watt June 28, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Banking on Wilberforce By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
It s time we get to know our neighbourhood ticks because more of them are now carrying the bacteria that causes Lyme disease a serious condition for humans and some animals.
Monday, June 6, 2016
Our country has been in the midst of an intense and thoughtful conversation about the end of life and what supports and legislation should be available for those facing illness and death.
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Your taxes are filed, your bills are paid, maybe you even have a return coming. Then you get the call: the Canada Revenue Agency is after you. You owe money and you need to pay up right away. In fact, you re so far behind, the OPP is coming to get you.
Friday, May 20, 2016
Finding the Group of Seven By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Haliburton has just received news that a family of refugees will be coming to the Highlands ...
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Getting around By Jenn Watt
1 2 3