Tuesday, February 9, 2016
If you ve been grocery shopping in the last couple of months, you ve noticed the incredible increase in the cost of some fruits and vegetables. And, if you ve been paying attention over the last year, you ve probably taken note of the increase in price of
Monday, February 1, 2016
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Kawartha Lakes Haliburton needs the men of this county to join them in their mission of empowering kids and teenagers to fulfill their potential.
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Belatedly, Jack Frost made his way to the Highlands last weekend with bitter temperatures between -41ºC and a relatively balmy -17 by Sunday afternoon. It was more than we bargained for.
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Norman Yan had a refreshing message to impart on Saturday when he addressed Environment Haliburton s membership during their AGM: there s reason for optimism.
Monday, February 29, 2016
You couldn t have asked for a more humble response from a Highlander of the Year recipient.
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Cancer has taken over the North American psyche. It is one of the most feared diseases, consuming vast amounts of time and energy and generating plenty of hand-wringing among the sick and healthy alike.
Monday, January 18, 2016
It may be time for the tourism information centre to close on Highway 35 in Minden.
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Kids say the most hilarious things. They also say the most heartening and enlightened things, too.
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Despite international causes demanding attention and troubling economic news nationally, in Haliburton County it seems generosity springs eternal.
Monday, January 4, 2016
A look back at the major events of 2015.
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Our expectations of people and their capabilities and inherent value can do much to improve or hinder their lives.
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
On Feb. 25, the provincial Liberal government revealed this year s budget filled with ambitious promises. Among them, the announcement that students coming from homes bringing in $50,000 or less a year will have free tuition.
Monday, March 14, 2016
We got news this week that the nascent junior A team the Haliburton Wolves is looking for a new owner.
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Since becoming a homeowner I have become slightly obsessed with home renovation shows. You know the ones: Property Brothers, Love it or List it, Good Bones.
Monday, April 25, 2016
The Haliburton Highlands has been well supported by the Ontario Trillium Foundation over the years.
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Getting around By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Haliburton has just received news that a family of refugees will be coming to the Highlands ...
Friday, May 20, 2016
Finding the Group of Seven By Jenn Watt
Monday, April 18, 2016
Addressing PTSD By Jenn Watt
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Without volunteers, many local organizations would not function.
Monday, March 14, 2016
Community giving knows no lines – municipal or county
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
It was a tense 40 minutes in the Dysart et al council chambers Friday afternoon.
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Better court support By Jenn Watt
Monday, April 4, 2016
As spring creeps into the air well, we at least hope it will soon thoughts of summer are not too far off.
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Your taxes are filed, your bills are paid, maybe you even have a return coming. Then you get the call: the Canada Revenue Agency is after you. You owe money and you need to pay up right away. In fact, you re so far behind, the OPP is coming to get you.
1 2 3 4 5 6